h1

Have you heard the one about the jazz vocalist who created a new jazz concert series?

October 31, 2014

No really, have you heard about it?  No? Well, that’s probably because it’s not exactly trending news or some hot topic that the general population will care about.  Let me tell you a little something about what this jazz singer (that would be me) dreamed about and schemed about and now is putting into works here in Vancouver.  I have been involved in concerts over the years where I’ve been the producer, promoter, artist, arranger and “poster-putter-upper” This time around it’s true that I’ll be performing as part of a double bill for the first of the 3 concert series and after that date I’ll just be the puttin’ up posters and chairs and enjoying the music and musicians that I admire and appreciate as I try to bring my dream to life. The concert series takes place at St. James Hall in Vancouver and the website for the concert series has lots of information about the entire series: www.joyofjazzconcerts.com.  I’ll write more about that in another post but for now I’ll talk about the first concert which takes place Thursday November 27th.

Jillian Lebeck and Adam Thomas are two extraordinary jazz musicians and together they exist as a unique duo, both vocally and instrumentally. I’ve been a fan of both artists for many years now and I’ve seen them perform in various concert situations and witnessed what I would describe as a special musical chemistry. The mutual affection and admiration for each other is revealed in the music that they play and it’s obvious that although they are both strong solo artists they share a similar language and style when it comes to their vocal duets. Jillian and Adam each have such pure and lovely sounding voices and I feel happy and sad at the same time when I hear them sing. That’s possible in music!! There’s something very natural and unaffected and candid about how they perform a song and I witnessed this last July in my music studio.  I had booked Jillian and Adam to play as the rhythm section for a Vocal Jazz Summer Intensive that I taught and I asked if they might perform a couple of songs together  for the participants. Even in the casual atmosphere of a classroom in the span of just a few moments as they played and sang it was obvious that the magic was there and it was fun to watch the workshop participants’ faces as they too recognized the special shared gift Jillian and Adam have.  New and instant fans were made that day.

So, that’s about the duo work of Jillian and Adam. For the first concert I thought it would be a fun and fresh idea to sing with Jillian and Adam as my band for the first show and sculpt a set around what I might like to share with them and also to include one of my favorite instrumentalists in Vancouver to be on stage with us. James Danderfer plays his clarinet or his bass clarinet and always “brings it” and by that I mean he always has something musical to say with his instrument and he’s always listening carefully  and contributing beautiful melodies and harmonies when I am singing. This approach makes the notion of singing and playing in the moment a wonderful experience. There’s comfort and freedom in knowing that the people you are playing with can ebb and flow in that tide with you. Of course I have been lucky to experience that musical ebb and flow with many great musicians over the years and that’s what makes jazz based music such a thrill at times. I anticipate quite some excitement in sharing the stage with Jillian and Adam and James and I look forward to hearing what the four of us will sound like together.pink karin

Has the band been informed that I’ll have my uke Clooney along for the musical ride? Well…that’s not exactly a trending topic either so it’s possible that they don’t yet know but I’ll be sure to tell them soon…

Leave a Reply

