h1

Toronto jazz vocalist Maureen Kennedy

May 2, 2023

Photo of Maureen Kennedy Quintet at Frankie’s by KP

Here is a brief excerpt of the words I wrote after my colleague Maureen Kennedy appeared at Frankie’s Jazz Club in 2019:

My Toronto friend and colleague Maureen Kennedy calls herself a type of “nerd”. I giggle at the word “nerd” as it relates to Maureen since I never thought of her as such. She may be a nerd however she also happens to be a fabulous jazz vocalist, one with sophisticated taste in repertoire, one with a gorgeous nuanced vocal tone, an ease and natural ability to deliver the songs without fuss or extra “stuff” The purity of Maureen’s vocal sound and her exquisite phrasing puts a smile on my face. From the first phrase of each tune, there’s something about the quality of Maureen’s singing voice that pulls in you in, or perhaps it coaxes you in. Can a singing voice sound silky and sandy at the same time? Maureen’s voice does to me.

Now, more currently on May 2nd/2023 are the questions I recently asked Maureen. (Some of you may recall I do enjoy interviewing artists from time to time) Perhaps reading Maureen’s answers will be a way of getting to know a bit more about her musical path in advance of the upcoming dates at Frankie’s Jazz Club. Yes! Maureen is returning to Vancouver to perform May 19 and May 20.

Karin’s Q & A with Maureen Kennedy

K. What draws you to certain songs and songwriters when you select your repertoire?

M. I am drawn to a varied selection of songwriters. I like to dig deep into the vault of lesser-known tunes, but I also love some of the classic ones people know.  Recently I’ve been uncovering some beautiful Vernon Duke songs.  And I am also drawn to the lyrics of Lorenz Hart and John Latouche. Latouche wrote the lyrics to “Lazy Afternoon” and the Billy Strayhorn / Ellington tune “Daydream.” I find what they’ve written very relatable. I tend to like songs with a sense of melancholy and longing.

K. Are there any artists who you believe have influenced your own style and approach to singing jazz standards?

M. I’ve been influenced by many singers for different reasons. The list is very long.  I’ll name a few Irene Kral, Frank Sinatra, Helen Merrill, Carmen McRae, June Christy, Annie Ross, Jackie Paris, Nat King Cole, Mark Murphy – and this is a few!  I like the fact that all of these singers not only had incredible voices but also vast repertoires. A singer for me, like a horn player, has to have a personal sound. 

K. What are some specifics about the jazz genre that entice and captivate you?

M. I was drawn to jazz because it challenges you to never sing or play a tune the same way.  You can do this by altering the melody a bit or in how you phrase.  And playing with jazz musicians is a constant learning experience.  It’s a vocabulary that keeps expanding.  I listen to as much instrumental jazz as I do vocal.  When I hear a tune, I love I want to hear an instrumental version of it to get more ideas.

K. Do you recall when and why you first decided to become a jazz vocalist/recording artist?

M. I started singing in my early 20s. I was very green.  It took me time to develop a style and a repertoire. Studying with trumpet and flugelhorn player Fred Stone was very important to me. 

K. Is there a practice routine you use to keep your voice in singing condition?

M. I just vocalize a lot and I have a piano so I can really focus on learning the original melody of a tune.  I like to get the original sheet music for this reason. I think that having studied with Fred helped me with technique.  He once said the moment I stopped thinking about breathing was the moment I did it right.  It’s important to sing from the diaphragm for support. I’m distracted when I hear a singer breathing strongly between phrasing.  I suggest checking out Frank Sinatra for great breathing technique. He developed his breath control from watching trombonist Tommy Dorsey playing night after night. “Eventually he worked out that Dorsey had a pinhole in the corner of his mouth through which he was taking furtive breaths (circular breathing). Sinatra came to see that singing, too, was about breath control and that the secret was never to break the phrase.” 

K. Are there certain instruments that you are drawn to in music?

M. I love all the instruments used in jazz.  I listen to a lot of saxophonists. I also love trumpet and clarinet.  I love to sing with guitar and piano. The double bass is such a great instrument too – in terms of sound. 

K. What is something that you enjoy about performing live for an in-person audience? 

M. I find singing live challenging but necessary.  I love introducing audiences to songs they may have not heard.  And I love to tell them where I discovered the song – who performed it on recordings I love. I’m a curious person and I think that audiences are too.

K. Other than jazz music are there other genres you enjoy listening to?

M. I was in high school in the 1970s when the singer songwriter was a big thing. I went to a lot of great concerts then and was lucky to hear Bob Dylan, The Band, Joni Mitchell, Bruce Springsteen, The Rolling Stones, Elton John in their primes.

K. Do you listen to CD’s or vinyl, or do you stream your music when you listen?

M. I do it all.  My daughter’s both have turntables and great collections of music.  And I’ve kept all my CDs.  I like to buy CDs if I go to someone’s launch. The problem with streaming is there are no liner notes.

K. What advice would you give to up-and-coming jazz vocalists?

M. Focus just as much if not more on learning tunes, listening, practicing, than on social media. Social media is a promotional tool but, in some ways, it can be anti-social. Music is not a popularity contest. The great thing about jazz is that young musicians can get together with older musicians. I think that cultivating these kinds of relationships can be very enriching. Lately, I’ve been getting together with a very talented pianist and singer Hannah Barstow who is in her twenties. I love that she is curious about tunes and singers.  She recently did a great recording on Cornerstone records with Mike Murley and Jim Vivian. I love the tunes she has covered as well as her own compositions.

Thanks Maureen! See you in a few weeks.

Photo of Maureen Kennedy singing with bassist John Lee by Vincent Lim

Leave a comment